top of page

EDU@YourBest: Starting A Discussion Highlighting Every Teacher's Best


I believe that every teacher has something that is their "Best Thing", and I want to talk about it.

I teach high school and college math. I do not teach elementary students. I have social science qualifications but I don't do that daily either. Until recently I had no idea what a Socratic Circle was, but if we are making a list of things I don't know this becomes a multi-volume set rather than a blog post. What I am trying to say is that if I want to be a better math teacher, I think I can benefit from learning what other teachers do even if it is outside my silo. So here are the beliefs, or at least hypotheses that underlie this podcasting endeavor.

I Believe:

  1. Every teacher has a "Best Thing"

  2. Every teacher is happy to talk about their "Best Thing"

  3. I can take something useful away from talking about their "Best Thing"

  4. Even if I don't like it, it is still THEIR "Best Thing"

  5. By sharing our "Best Things" we all get better

The Plan:

  1. Find people in education (EDU) and ask for their best

  2. Do a passable job of podcast production value (hopefully improving)

  3. Share it with others and learn a little myself in the process

  4. Solicit constructive feedback and see where the project takes me

Episode 1:

Join me on the journey with the inaugural podcast with Quim Sabria the CEO-Founder of Edpuzzle. Quim was a sponsor and guest of the Illinois Flipped & Blended Learning Network in late June 2018 at our annual conference ILfabCon (#ILfabCon) as they were in Chicago for ISTE. As a co-founder of @ILFABN I had the opportunity to work and dine with Quim and his team as they trained conference attendees for two days and I was floored at the truly teacher centered philosophy at Edpuzzle. Once he and I sat down to talk, the story of how he began the process to Edpuzzle and his personal teaching journey explained a lot about where he is and where he wants to go.

Listen to our conversation here: bit.ly/EDUBESTep1

NOTE: I 100% welcome comment and feedback as this is my first ever attempt at this and for some of you, you are the BEST at this.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page